Assignment 5: Applying Environmental Principles in Design

by ReniYoung

This assingment involves me incorporating my knowledge systems of light and air movement into my Arch301 studio design project. My site is located in Old City, Philadelphia, Pa and is 35′ by 150′ in overall footprint. The design brief requires that we programmatically make it a Wellness Center- as a result, mine is a Spa & Rejuvination Center. My main theme throughout the design was an attempt to re-create some of the aspects of rhythm and repetition I observed in the immediate environment surrounding my site, this involved considering light and shadow, human traffic and its intensity as well as activity on the Ben Franklin Bridge directly opposite my site. I decided to primarily focus on “rejuvinating” the lower floors of my building by coming up with a design that directed ambient light to that area (which currently feels like its under the bridge). In doing this I shifted my floor plates by 5′ on the North, East and West sides which in turn created a light well in the front half of my building. Incorporating louver systems also allowed for this light flow as well as natural cross-ventilation throughout the building. In the images below, my stairwell served as the stack effect system enabling cooler air to travel to the top half in the summer as well as warm air to the lower floors in the winter.My choice of materials help encourage this light flow- glass and steel mesh systems that will let light through.

Panorama of site

Axonometric showing hot/cold air & wind

Solar studies- Transverse section perspective

Sun chart Elevation

Sun chart Plan